Technical Committee on Communications Software (TCS) Minutes from the meeting at GC 2016 Washington DC, USA.

Wednesday December 7th, 2016 @ 11 am. Room: Gunston West and East

The following meeting agenda was proposed and accepted.

- Opening / Introduction
- Review / Approval of minutes of last meeting held @ ICC2016
- Conference updates:
 - a. GLOBECOM 2017, ICC 2017,
 - b. Other conferences, workshops
- Special Interest Groups (SIG) activities
- Officer election
- Adjourn

Opening and introduction

Prof. Linda Mokdad welcomed attendees and opened meeting.

1. Introduction

All participants introduced themselves. The list of the attendees is given below: Abdellarif Kobbane, Mohammed V University of Rabbat (Morroco), kobbane@gmail.com Hossam Hassanein, Queen's University, hossam@cs.queensu.ca Azzedine Boukerche, University of Ottawa (Canada), boukerche@site.uottawa.ca Jalel Ben Othmane, University of Paris 13 (France), jbo@univ-paris13.fr Periklis Chatzimisios, Alexander TEI of Tressalonki (Greece), peris@it.teithe.gr Bechir Hamdaoui, Oregon S. University (USA), hamdaoui@eecs.orst.edu, Tarik Taleb, Aalto University (Finland), talebtarik@gmail.com, Soumaya Cherkaoui, U. Sherbrooke (Canada), soumaya.cherkaoui@usherbrooke.ca Scott Fowler, Linkoping University (Sweden), scott.fowler@lin.se Djamal Djenouri, Cerist (Algeria), djenouri@gmail.com Abderrezak Rachedi, University Paris Est (France), rachedi@ieee.org Sidi-Mohammed Senouci, University of Bourgogne (France), sidimohammmed.senouci@u-bourgogne.fr Sedjelmaci hichem, University of Bourgogne (France), sedjelmaci@ u-bourgogne.fr Moungla Hassine, Paris Descarts (France), hassine.moungla@parisdescarts.fr

Véronique Vèque, Univ-Paris Sud (France), veronique.veque@u-sud.fr

Cheng Li, Memorial University (Canada), lichen@mun.ca

Nidal Nasser, Alfaisal University (Saoudi Arabia), nnidal@gmail.com

Yacine Ghameri-doudane, University of Larochelle (France), yacine.ghameri@univ-larochelle.fr

Darda B. Rawet, Howard University (USA), db.rawat@ieee.org

Abdallah Shami, University of Western Ontario (Canada), ashami2@uwo.ca

Adlen Ksentini (Secretary), Eurecom (France), adlen.ksentini@eurecom.fr

Hacene Fouchal (Vice-Chair), University of Reims (France), hacene.fouchal@univreims.fr

Linda Mokdad (Chair), University of Paris 12 (France)

2. Approval of last meeting minutes

The minutes of the last meeting was presented by Linda and approved by all the participants.

3. 3. Report on conferences and workshops

The upcoming major events in which TCS is involved are: ICC 2017, ICC 2018 and Globecom 2017.

TCS is co-sponsoring one symposium:

- Communications Software, Services and Multimedia Symposium. Abdallah Shami, Adlen Ksentini and Hacène Fouchal, nominated by our TCs are acting as Symposium chair in IEEE ICC 2017, IEEE Globecom 2017 and IEEE ICC 2018, respectively.
- TCS is endorsing several others conferences.
 - SCNS 2016 -Conference on Smart Cloud Networks & Systems being held 19-21 December 2016 in Dubai, UAE
 - CIoT 2016 Conference Cloudification of the Internet of Things in Paris in France
 - CITS 2017 International Conference on Computer, Information and Telecommunication Systems, 21-23 July 2017, Danian, China

4. SIG activities

Hacene Fouchal introduced the different SIG activities of the TCS. Then, Linda invited the SIG coordinators present in the room to detail their activities:

- Hacene Fouchal for "Communication software for Vehicular AdHoc Networks"
- Adlen Ksentini for "NFV and SDN technologies"
- Jalel Benothman for "Security in Software Communication"
- Periklis Chatzimisios for "Communication Software for Big Data"

5. WebSite and the news letter

The TC web site has been updated according to the IEEE COMSOC TC template. The new version is available at http://commsoft.committees.comsoc.org.

December issue of the newsletter has been released. It contains the following papers:

- "Designing Future Optical Wireless Communication Networks Challenges Ahead", Scott Fowler, Xingjun Zhang and Jianhua He
- "Matching Game for Hyper Dense LTE HetNets", Abdellatif Kobbane and Abdellaziz Walid

6. Other Business

- Hacène Fouchal indicated that a new sub-committee is emerging in COMSOC. This sub-committee overlaps with our SIG on SDN and NFV. Azzeddine Boukerche proposed that members from our TC should attend the new sub-committee to discuss possible collaboration, and how their activities could fit in our TC.
- Hichem Sedjelmaci is preparing a Special issue on Cyber security and privacy in Vehicular networks. He asked if our TC could help to endorse and find a journal which could accommodate this SI. Jalel Ben Othmane proposed itself to help in collaboration with the AHSN TC to find a venue for the SI.
- Hacène Fouchal proposed to update the topic of the TCS in order to include clearly SDN and NFV. Yassine Ghameri-doudane indicated that this coud be possible after the TC certification.
- Hécène Fouchal asked the attendee to help to disseminate the CFP of the CSSMA Symposium in order to increase the number of submissions.
- Azzedine Boukerche is one of the Keynote speakers in IEEE ICT-DM 2016 endorsed by the TCS.
- Jalel Ben-Othmane and Abdellatif Kobbane are General Chairs of the IEEE Wincom 2016 conference; also endorsed by TCS.

7. Awards

Two TCS awards have been distributed to:

- Hossam Hassanein (Queens's University, Canada)
 - o IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award: "For Outstanding contributions to routing and deployment planning algorithms in wireless sensor networks"
 - o Jalel Ben-Othman (University of Paris 13, France)
- IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award: "For Outstanding contributions to MAC layer algorithms in wireless networks"

8. Elections

Hossam Hassanein is chairing the election committee. He presented the candidates for the three officer positions:

Chair: Hacène Fouchal Vice-chair: Adlen Ksentini

Secretary:

- Abdellatif Kobbane
- Scott Fowler

The election chair recalled that only active members are allowed to vote. According to COMSOC rules, an active member of a TC is a person who attended physically two meeting over the five last meetings. The list of active members has been displayed by Linda Mokdad. Accordingly, only 12 persons from the attendee were eligible to vote.

The results:

Abdellatif Kobbane obtained 9 votes, and Scott Fowler 3 votes.

The new officers from Dec. 2016 to Dec. 2018 are:

Chair: Hacène Fouchal Vice-chair: Adlen Ksentini Secretary: Abdellatif Kobbane

9. Closing

The meeting was adjourned at 1 pm.