Communication Software TECHNICAL COMMITTEE


CommSoft TC has approved the following members as part of the 2023 awards subcommittee:

Jalel Ben-Othman (Chair)

Cheng Li (Member)

Melike Erol-Kantarci (Member)

Adlen Ksentini (Member)

Hassine Moungla (Member)

Eirini Eleni Tsiropoulou (member).


Professor Hacène Fouchal, University of Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne, Reims, France

For contributions to vehicular communication and their security

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award, December 2022


Professor Shuai Han, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Honk Kong

For contributions to wireless communications security and the integrated stellite-terrestrial communication networks

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award, December 2022


Professor Lynda Mokdad, University of Paris-Est Créteil , Paris, France

For perfomance evaluation techniques for wireless networks and web services

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award, December 2021


Professor Jun Zheng, SouthEast University, Canada

For advancing the field of network architectures and performances and protocols

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award, December 2021


Professor Mohsen Guezani, Qatar University, Doha, Qatar

For his outstanding contributions to network softwarization and

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award, December 2019


Professor Cheng Li, Memorial University of New foundland, Canada

For his achievements in Wireless networking and modeling

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award, December 2018

Professor Mohammad S. Obaidat, Fordham University, NY, USA,

For his achievements and original technical contributions to cybersecurity, wireless networking, computer networks and modeling & simulation

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award, December 2018


Prof. Abdellah Shami, Western University, Canada

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award, December 2017

Prof. Tarik Taleb, Aalto University, Finland

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award, December 2017


Prof. Hossam Hassanein, Professor in the School of Computing at Queen’s University, Canada

houssam-plaque houssam

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award: “For Outstanding contributions to routing and deployment planning algorithms in wireless sensor networks”, December 2016

Short Bio: Before joining Queen’s University in 1999, I worked at the department of Mathematics and Computer Science at Kuwait University (1993-1999) and the department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Waterloo (1991-1993). I obtained my Ph.D. in Computing Science from the University of Alberta in 1990, and M.A.Sc. in Computer Engineering from the University of Toronto in 1986. My B.Sc. is in Electrical Engineering from Kuwait University, 1984. I was born in CairoEgypt. My research is in the areas of broadband and wireless networks architectures, protocols, control and performance evaluation. I am the founder and director of the Queen`s Telecommunication Research Lab (Queen`s TRL) in the School of Computing at Queen’s. Click here for a list of my recent publications.

Prof. Ben-Othman, Professor at University of Paris 13, France

jalel-plaque jalel

IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award: “For Outstanding contributions to MAC layer algorithms in wireless networks”, December 2016

Biography Prof. Ben-Othman received his B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees both in Computer Science from the University of Pierre et Marie Curie, (Paris 6) France in 1992, and 1994 respectively. He received his PhD degree from the University of Versailles, France, in 1998. He was an Assistant Professor at the University of Orsay (Paris 11) and University of Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris 6), in 1998 and 1999 respectively. He was an Associate Professor at the University of Versailles from 2000 to 2011. He is currently full professor at the University of Paris 13 since 2011.Dr. Ben-Othman’s research interests are in the area of wireless ad hoc and sensor networks, Broadband Wireless Networks, multi-services bandwidth management in WLAN (IEEE 802.11), WMAN (IEEE 802.16), WWAN (LTE), VANETS, Sensor and Ad Hoc Networks, security in wireless networks in general and wireless sensor ad hoc networks and vehicular ad hoc Networks.


Prof. Azzedine Boukerche, Professor at University of Ottawa, Canada


IEEE COMMSOFT Technical Achievement Award“for his contributions to the theory and design of video streaming, service discover communication protocols with application to intelligent transportation systems, December 2015

Short Bio: Azzedine Boukerche is a Full Professor and holds a Canada Research Chair position in distributed simulation and wireless and mobile networking at the University of Ottawa. He is the Founding Director of PARADISE Research Laboratory at Ottawa U. Prior to this, he held a faculty position at the University of North Texas, USA. He worked as a Senior Scientist at the Simulation Sciences Division, Metron Corporation located in San Diego. He was also employed as a Faculty at the School of Computer Science McGill University, and taught at Polytechnic of Montreal. He spent a year at the JPL/NASA-California Institute of Technology where he contributed to a project centered about the specification and verification of the software used to control interplanetary spacecraft operated by JPL/NASA Laboratory. His current research interests include sensor networks, mobile ad hoc networks, mobile and pervasive computing, wireless multimedia, QoS service provisioning, performance evaluation and modeling of large-scale distributed systems, distributed computing, large-scale distributed interactive simulation, and parallel discrete event simulation. Dr. Boukerche has published several research papers in these areas.

Prof. Sherali Zeadally, Associate Professor at the University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY, USA


Sherali Zeadally  Technical Achievement Award, December 2015
For Outstanding contributions to Communication Software and Protocols for Vehicular Ad-Hoc Networks (VANETs)

Short Bio:

Sherali Zeadally is an Associate Professor at the University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY, USA. He is a Fellow of the British Computer Society and a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering Technology in the United Kingdom.